Sleep Deprivation…

Yesterday was my final group critique of my Thesis work and it went fairly well.  My final piece, featured yesterday in the post Drawing Process, went over really well. My professor told me I really “busted it out” on this last piece, which is true.  I’ve been up until 2 am in the studios the past couple of nights finishing up.  Yesterday I had to spray my last three drawings with workable fixative and get them photographed.  I was at the school until about 11 pm, swung by the store for root beer float supplies, and picked up some dinner before heading home.  Once there my roommate and I stayed up and were sanding frames for her thesis show (so glad mine are metal and do not need sanding of any sort) while watching The Princess and the Frog.  As accomplished as I feel I’m exhausted. We’re currently short staffed at work so I keep getting extra hours- I love the extra cash, but waking up at 7:30 to be at work by 8:15 am, not so much.   The following is a fairly accurate rendition of how I’ve felt the past few days…

On the bright side I just finished framing all my pieces, but one.  I’ll be doing my final piece on Monday, along with an individual critique with my Prof.  Now that is finished with I’m kicking back and writing blog posts, eating a turkey sandwich, drinking a pepsi and listening to the Glee soundtrack.  This respite is fleeting, eventually I’ll return to my apartment gather up my dirty laundry and head to the laundromat.  However, I don’t work until 1pm tomorrow so perhaps tonight I will finally get a proper night’s sleep.

Leave a Reply

